The MPA Gold

Recognising exceptional talent & dedication to our music publishing community

Honouring our community

image description


The Gold Badge was founded by Ron White, former MPA CEO, who wanted to commemorate Cliff Richard & The Shadows and celebrate their 25 years in the industry. It was initially agreed that there would only ever be 10 badges. However, the decision was then made to create an annual award which has been gifted every year since 1983.

image description


The Gold Badges are presented every year at the MPA Christmas Lunch.

image description


The award is a solid gold badge branded with the Music Publisher Association’s initials.

See below for a list of our MPA Gold Badge recipients.

2023 Recipient

Lord Andrew Lloyd Webber

image description

Lord Andrew Lloyd Webber, legendary composer and impresario renowned for his exceptional achievements in musical theatre, has enriched the global cultural landscape with timeless classics such as The Phantom of the Opera, Cats and Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat.

This accolade was given at the MPA Christmas Lunch 2023, alongside the Outstanding Lifetime Achievement award. Key figures from the music publishing, and wider industry, were in attendance – which featured a surprise performance from West End icon singer and actress Marti Webb of her hit single ‘Take That Look Off Your Face’.

Past Recipients of the MPA Gold Badge

William Booth, December 2022
Jane Dyball, December 2022
Paulette Long OBE, April 2022
Jo Smith, April 2022
David Kassner, April 2022
No badges awarded in 2020 or 2021 due to COVID-19
Jackie Alway OBE 2019
Chris Butler 2017
Stuart Hornall 2017
Sally Groves, 2014
Peter Barnes, 2014
Leslie East, 2014
Stephen Navin, 2013
Peter Cornish, 2013
Jenny Goodwin, 2011
Ben Newing, 2010
Jonathan Simon, 2009
Sarah Faulder, 2005
Andrew Potter, 2004
Tony Pool, 2002
Terry Oates, 2001
Richard Toeman, 1998
Andy Heath, 1997
Peter Dadswell, 1996
Jonson Dyer, 1994
Paul Rich, 1989
Len Thorpe, 1989
Peter Smits, 1988
Robert Kingston, 1985
Ron White, 1985
Janice Cable, 1984
Cliff Richard & Shadows, 1983

Wider member recognition