MPA commissions new work from British Composer Awards winner Kerry Andrew


The Music Publishers Association (MPA) is providing £3,000 for the commission of a new choral work from Kerry Andrew, winner of the Making Music category at last night’s (Tuesday 30 November) British Composer Awards. Kerry won the Award for her work Fall, a choral setting of a poem by Robin Robertson commissioned by the Joyful Company of Singers.

The newly commissioned work will be developed in partnership with the MPA and Making Music, and will be offered for performance by a group of choirs from within the membership of leading UK voluntary music organisation, Making Music which represents over 250,000 amateur musicians.

Stephen Navin, Chief Executive of the MPA, commented, “We congratulate Kerry on her Award and are thrilled to offer her a commission for a new work. There is no more wonderful experience than listening to, and indeed, performing a new choral work. We look forward with great anticipation to working with Kerry and Making Music in the run up to the first and many subsequent performances of the work.”

Robin Osterley, Chief Executive of Making Music, said, "We are hugely grateful to BASCA and to the MPA for making this happen. Making Music is always very keen to help in the creation of new works and especially pleased to be able to offer them to a multiplicity of our members. It's a wonderful opportunity for Kerry, our members and Making Music."

British Composer Awards Chairman, Sarah Rodgers, commented, “We are always pleased when commissions are realised as part of the British Composer Awards. The Awards provide the perfect canvas for a funder to commission new work from the most exciting compositional voices of the day.”

The British Composer Awards are presented by the British Academy of Songwriters Composers and Authors (BASCA) and sponsored by PRS for Music. In association with BBC Radio 3 the event will be broadcast during Performance on 3 at 7pm tonight (Wednesday 1 December).

To view a full list of British Composer Award winners for 2010, click here

Above: Kerry Andrew receives her British Composer Award from Jude Kelly, OBE. Photo: Mark Allan