Member News

Everything you missed from the MPA AGM 2018


A huge thank you to all those who attended our MPA AGM & Summer Party on Tuesday 3rd July. We hope you will join us in agreeing that it was a fantastic day and inspiring day…and we’re not just talking about the football score.

MPA Chair Jackie Alway announced the seven individuals who were appointed to the MPA Board as Elected Directors, the list is as follows:

Blair McDonald (AMLOR Music Publishing)
David McGinnis (Mute Song)
Jackie Davidson (Art Music)
James Eggleston (Boosey & Hawkes Music Publisher)
Jonathan Tester (Bucks Music Group)
Maria Scott (West One Music Group)
Roberto Neri (Downtown Music UK)

Congratulations to all our newly appointed Directors and who voted.

We would also like to thank Elroy Powell, who many of you will know as “Spoon” who ensured a keenly contested and, in the end, extremely close election. Spoon is a valued and highly engaged member of the Education & Training and Pop Publishers Committees and we hope that he will stand again next year.

Following formal business, Jane shared some of the MPA’s achievements from the year, the full CEO report can be read over on our website here.

Jackie also took the time to recognise Paul Dolan’s fantastic contribution to the MPA board as he retires from his position as non-exec director. Paul’s previous experience at Deloitte and beyond have proven invaluable as the MPA group of companies have been through so many changes. Paul was a key advisor during the SLA negotiations with PRS, in restructuring and setting up the IMPEL company and in reducing the MCPS debt from more than £21m to less than £5m. We thank you Paul for all his years of service to the board and wish him all the very best in his retirement.  Jackie presented him with a mechanical disc which contains the music to “Auld Lang Syne’.

Jackie then announced the two winners for the MPA Richard Toeman Scholarship, Publisher Catagory for the MPA Richard Toeman Scholarship, Safra Deen Farook from Sony ATV Publishing & the winner of the Student Category Tom Bladon who recently graduated from the Leeds College of Music. You can read more about the RTS winners by clicking here.

We ended the AGM with our ‘Deeds Not Words’ panel and heard from some fantastic speakers, who each gave us a brief overview of their career, their downfalls and their future plans. View the panellists below:

Catherine Mayer – Co-Founder, Women’s Equality Party (Chair)
Marie Benton 
 Founder & CEO, The Choir With No Name
Rachel Coldicutt 
 Founder & CEO, Doteveryone
Paris Cesvette – Producer, Musician & DJ

After each motivational presentation, Catherine then moderated a panel discussion which tackled diverse and fair recruitment in the workplace, top tips on breaking the glass ceiling, the pipeline across the creative industries and much more.

Photos and videos from throughout the day will be available soon and shared with our members and across our social media platforms.

You can view Jane’s powerpoint by clicking here.

You can view from tweets from across the day below:



You are now being redirected to the PRS For Music who administer the MCPS

Visit Site

You are now being redirected to the Printed Music License Limited website

Visit Site